Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start

Jelena Vučković elected to National Academy of Sciences

In recognition of her distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Professor  and Chair Jelena Vučković has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of her distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive. 

EE Professor and Chair Jelena Vučković leads the Nanoscale and Quantum Photonics Lab. She was the inaugural director of Q-FARM, the Stanford-SLAC Quantum Science and Engineering Initiative, and is affiliated with Ginzton Lab, PULSE Institute, SIMES Institute, Stanford Photonics Research Center (SPRC), SystemX Alliance, Bio-X, and Wu-Tsai Neurosciences Institute at Stanford.

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars. Established by an Act of Congress, signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, the NAS is charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. The NAS is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community. Approximately 500 current and deceased members of the NAS have won Nobel Prizes, and the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, founded in 1914, is today one of the premier international journals publishing the results of original research.

Please join us in congratulating Jelena on her well-deserved recognition!

NAS, “National Academy of Sciences Elects Members and International Members,” May 2023.

More News Topics